Taff
7th October 2002, 19:31
Please be extra carefull
Please read carefully.
The latest in e-gold scamming has gotten pretty sophisticated. There have been many that have created web sites with the exact look of the e-gold web site, created specifically to get your account number and password.
Things have evolved and now the latest threat is in the form of an email. It is in html form and looks exactly like the e-gold login page.
With this information:
*Quote*
E-gold details update ...
The administration of payment system E-Gold informs: That you have not correctly entered the personal information on / the companies Please, go on the account in E-Gold and correct the personal data .
Passphrase:
Turing Number:
Enter sequence of numbers displayed in grid directly above. (Audible Turing Number)
Start at the e-gold Home Page
http:\\www.e-gold.com\member.log Yours faithfully, Department E-Gold
Viewing the source code, all the images and help tags are directly being called from the e-gold web site, however the form is being submitted to another domain.
*Quote*
http://zarcconn.com.cnchost.com/cgi/add.php
Going to the domain itself, the scam is further given strength by the fact that entering the domain directly into your browser, your are redirected, either by a meta tag or via the backend, to the e-gold web site.
DO NOT FALL FOR THIS SCAM!!! AND LET EVERYONE YOU KNOW, KNOW ABOUT THIS. THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT AS COUNTLESS $1000'S HAVE ALREADY BEEN LOST.
PLEASE, PLEASE REMEMBER..just like PayPal, e-gold does not send out emails that request you to log into your account because 'there's is some missing information' or 'you need to update our records.'
Thanks,
April
Webmistress.
Please read carefully.
The latest in e-gold scamming has gotten pretty sophisticated. There have been many that have created web sites with the exact look of the e-gold web site, created specifically to get your account number and password.
Things have evolved and now the latest threat is in the form of an email. It is in html form and looks exactly like the e-gold login page.
With this information:
*Quote*
E-gold details update ...
The administration of payment system E-Gold informs: That you have not correctly entered the personal information on / the companies Please, go on the account in E-Gold and correct the personal data .
Passphrase:
Turing Number:
Enter sequence of numbers displayed in grid directly above. (Audible Turing Number)
Start at the e-gold Home Page
http:\\www.e-gold.com\member.log Yours faithfully, Department E-Gold
Viewing the source code, all the images and help tags are directly being called from the e-gold web site, however the form is being submitted to another domain.
*Quote*
http://zarcconn.com.cnchost.com/cgi/add.php
Going to the domain itself, the scam is further given strength by the fact that entering the domain directly into your browser, your are redirected, either by a meta tag or via the backend, to the e-gold web site.
DO NOT FALL FOR THIS SCAM!!! AND LET EVERYONE YOU KNOW, KNOW ABOUT THIS. THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT AS COUNTLESS $1000'S HAVE ALREADY BEEN LOST.
PLEASE, PLEASE REMEMBER..just like PayPal, e-gold does not send out emails that request you to log into your account because 'there's is some missing information' or 'you need to update our records.'
Thanks,
April
Webmistress.