View Full Version : my email address sold
micama
6th May 2002, 18:09
Just received this email and not into my hotmail account but my private email account. What do I do? I am not happy:(
This Is Not Spam Your Email Address Was Just Sold TO Me From
http://web.a-znet.com/sstanley/lists.html
----------------------------------------------------------------------
------------------------
Please Take A Few Minute Of Your Time To Visit My Great Site
http://jazzyjohn.buildreferrals.com
We've paid $281,884.14 to our Members!
We have paid more to our Members than almost all of our competitors
COMBINED!! This amount doesn't include all the money our Members
have made from the companies we help them Build Referrals for.
Anyone can make money with BuildReferrals, how much depends on how
much effort you are willing to put in.
We've given $23,000.00 to our Members!
BuildReferrals rewards its Members for reading our emails by giving
them entries in our Monthly Lottery. Both Free and Upgraded Members
can win a share of $5,750.00 every month!
What Are You Waiting On Go There NOW!!!
http://jazzyjohn.buildreferrals.com
Thanks For Your Time.
Darla Venetta
astrangemix
6th May 2002, 21:41
I received the same e-mail at my home addy. I only use it for my GPTR so maybe it might have come from one of them or someone who accessed a GPTR mail database.
micama
6th May 2002, 22:26
I don't know about that as I know someone who is not a member here who also got the same email:\
Regardless I never authorized anyone to sell my email addy to anyone and this sort of thing is illegal as far as I am concerned.
Keith Rob what a your views on this?
GPTBoycott will never sell any of your personal information/e-mail addresses.
Are you in paid e-mail programs? That is a possibility...
Rob
AloraLyric
7th May 2002, 22:45
:( I got that one as well... Of course, I'm in several Get Paid programs, so I don't have any idea where they got it!
micama
7th May 2002, 22:54
:\ I am in several get paid programs some for a long time so how come this happens now?
Also most paid programs do not sell your addy.
No one should be able to buy your addy no matter what.
astrangemix
8th May 2002, 00:18
It seems this problem may have started with TombMailer. I received an e-mail (sent to her members) stating she is aware of this issue and has taken measures to rectify it. She enclosed a copy of the e-mail micama posted which is the same one I received.
Date: Mon, 06 May 2002 19:54:34 -0600
From: rewards@TombMailer.com
Subject: Very Important update that concerns Members
excerpt: (I x'd out the addy)
xxxxxxxx@a-znet.com (seller) (I AM NOT CODONING ANYONE TO SPAM HIM IF I FIND OUT YOUR ACCOUNT WILL BE DELETED PERIOD! THIS IS ONLY INFORMATION SO YOU WILL KNOW WHAT TO LOOK FOR! MEASURES HAVE ALREADY BEEN TAKE TO STOP THE SITUATION! PLEASE DONT MAKE IT ANY WORSE THAN IT IS RIGHT NOW!!)I have no clue how he got anything.
micama
8th May 2002, 16:29
Posted at the BB
Thanks elkay:D
It seems that someone got the email addresses from either Tombmailer or Buildreferals. He then set up a site where people could buy the email addresses.
The site to buy the addresses is now down, and the user jazzyjohn has been booted out of buildreferals for buying then spamming email addresses.
The list seller has been reported to paypal also. Hopefully that should put paid to him for a while :)
----------------------------------------
Serves him right
:laugh:
micama
9th May 2002, 08:08
Thought I would just post an update thanks to my friend :)
Here is what she has written:
I have been told by buildreferals, that although his site is still up he has no access to it and won't be able to join up again. Let's hope he's learnt his lesson, but whoever was selling our email addresses will no doubt be back at some point selling them again
Seemingly whoever was selling the email addresses is having their paypal account that they were receiving payment to, is getting closed down too.
1 Question, those who got the spam, were they gold members of TM?
Never Mind, forget that question. I just remembered that Rhea has encryption, so her gold members addresses would be secure.
It would have been handy, if they had sold one of Marcs, because he places the company title@hisdomain.com, and whatever mail went to his email, he'd know where the email came from, alot of people do that.
micama
10th May 2002, 03:16
Thanks DBE for your comments :)
I just hope it does not happen again but with technology the way it is these days anything is possible:\
tombmailer
3rd June 2002, 00:14
we shut down there paypal account period so no more will be sold thru paypal anyways
vBulletin® v3.7.4, Copyright ©2000-2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.